Review: Sala VIP Miro Lounge @ BCN Terminal 1

This site is part of an affiliate sales network and receives compensation for sending traffic to partner sites, such as CreditCards.com. This compensation may impact how and where links appear on this site. This site does not include all financial companies or all available financial offers.

Also see: 

“Yo, dude, Harlan. Haven’t you been back from Barcelona for like, 2 months? When you gonna wrap up the Barcelona posts?”

“I knowww. This is it. Last one, I promise!”

But for real. As I get ready to head to Tokyo, I figured I should finally put the lid on the Barcelona series. For now at least. :p

Before flying back to New York in American Airlines Business Class, I made sure to put my Priority Pass (that came with my Citi Prestige card) to good use by making a visit to the Sala VIP Miro lounge @ BCN.

Sala VIP Miro lounge

Sala VIP Miro lounge

I was able to access it with a guest for free. I added this visit to the Citi Prestige by the Numbers page.

The Sala VIP Miro lounge

I went in the morning, around breakfast time.

There weren’t many peeps in the lounge, and getting in was quick and easy. The desk agent scanned my Priority Pass card – and the gate was under 5 minutes away. Perfect.

We set down our luggage and checked it out.

This particular lounge is only accessible if you’re flying “intercontinental non-Schengen Terminal 1 flights”. BCN-JFK fit that description.

Seating

Seating

Seating

Seating. View from rear of lounge

asd

Separate seating in a different room

Overall, the lounge was bright and had lots of outlets.

The wifi was fast (possibly because the place wasn’t crowded, as you can tell from the pics). Whatever the reason, that’s always a plus.

Nap room

Nap room

There was even a place to PTFO!

Magazines

Magazines

They also had magazines and newspapers set out.

The food

The place was fully stocked with juices, pastries, chips, yogurt, fruits, and other snacks.

There’s a Nespresso machine for coffee or lattes.

And beneath it, there’s a fridge stocked with beer, sodas, and the like.

Beyond the Nespresso machine, but in the same area, we found the wine and champagne (useful if you want to mix up a mimosa – which we did). I assume this is also where they set out self-serve liquors in the afternoon and evening.

2016-01-19 09.04.45

Pastries and sandwiches

2016-01-19 09.04.16

Water, yogurt, fruits

2016-01-19 09.03.56

Chips, bread, juice

2016-01-19 09.03.37

Nespresso coffee machine

2016-01-19 09.03.25

Milk (regular and flavored), water, various kinds of juice

2016-01-19 09.03.20

Cereal

2016-01-19 09.01.26

Wine and champagne

2016-01-19 07.26.51

Pastries, sweets, and breads

There was a nice selection of things to choose from. We each had a sandwich and a pastry, along with a coffee and mimosa, which was more than enough to get the day going and hold us over until the flight.

I was impressed with the overall ambiance of the lounge. The attendants did well to make sure dishes were picked up, and that food and drinks were replaced or restocked.

Bottom line

I kinda wish my visit was during the afternoon or evening – I would’ve liked to try their hot food offerings and partake in the self-serve drinks. But considering the early hour, there was a level of calm here that was much appreciated.

There are 3 lounges in Terminal 1 @ BCN. One is for BCN-MAD shuttle flights, another is for domestic and Schengen flights.

Then there’s this one. If you’re flying most anywhere else from T1, you can visit this lounge with your Priority Pass card.

Depending on which version of the card you have, you’ll pay $27 for each guest (up to 2, or your immediate family), or $0 if you have it through Citi Prestige (same rules).

It’s bright, and calm enough to actually get some pre-flight work done.

The food and drinks are more than sufficient, and there were plenty of outlets.

They also have a separate nap room, and a shower room in case you need to refresh.

I wish I could’ve stayed here a little longer. It’s worth showing up a little early to get some time here, especially if you’re flying coach and want to eat and drink a bit (and get in one last dose of internet) before your flight.

If you’ve been to this lounge, how does your experience compare? 

Editorial Note: Opinions expressed here are author's alone, not those of any bank, credit card issuer, hotel, airline, or other entity. This content has not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by any of the entities included within the post.

* If you liked this post, consider signing up to receive free blog posts via email (only 1 per day!) or in an RSS reader and you’ll never miss an update! And thanks for using my links to apply for new card offers!

About Harlan

Just a dude living in Dallas.

More articles by Harlan »

Pingbacks

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *